Foodie Friday!

foodiefriday

Today’s Foodie Friday is a yummy dinner I made! I started following the Weight Watchers Simply Filling plan last Friday and I absolutely love it! I was hesitant for a long time to try it because I was pretty much unsure I could decide when I was full… after all, isn’t that what got me where I was?! But after having a bad week the week before, I decided to give it a go and see if it would get me back in the groove… it did! I felt free not having to measure everything! And since I pretty much eat mostly Power Foods anyway, it was not that hard to transition.

Anyway, I searched on Pinterest for Simply Filling recipes and found this one!

I just used the potatoes I had on hand (gold potatoes) and used my own herbs (parsley, basil and oregano) but did everything else the same…. and oh my goodness they were SO GOOD! I make oven potatoes a lot (never make frozen french fries… blech!) and this gave us something a little different! Definitely making them again!

To go along with it, I had a pound of 93% lean ground beef to use … I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to do with it, but then I decided to make my own cabbage rolls casserole! I had seen recipes for it floating around, but I just did my own thing.

I browned the beef until cooked and then added:

– 1/2 bag green cabbage shreds

– 1 can tomato sauce

– 1/2 onion, diced (next time I will food process this smaller since Sammie did not like the pieces of it)

– leftover brown rice (approximately 1 1/2 cups)

– 1/2 cup chopped up roasted red peppers

– salt

I mixed it altogether, placed it in a 13×9 baking dish and baked about 15 minutes at 450 (only because that is what my oven was on for the potatoes— you could adjust this if you wanted to).

It was DELICIOUS!!! Alex gobbled it up… Sammie complained about the onion pieces but at some of it.

IMG_8761

PS This is a small serving plate… not dinner sized! It truly does make me feel like I am eating a lot 🙂 Such a great tip I got from a fellow WWer!!!

Leave a Reply

