Freezer cooking …

I used to freezer cook a lot, back when I was working full time and was about to have Sammie … it helped a ton to have meals prepared so we wouldn’t end up eating out so much. I kind of got away from it as I became a stay at home mom, but decided that having a stocked freezer was a good idea now that the kiddos are older and involved in more activities. Our schedule currently has us away from the house three nights a week for swim team/swim lessons and then twice a month for Girl Scouts. Needless to say, quick, easy and healthy are all prerequisites for our dinners!

So last night began my prep for a big freezer cook! I plan to make:

homemade chicken nuggets

sweet and sour chicken

vegetable beef stew

chili โœ”

sloppy joe meat

meatballs

meatloaf

spaghetti sauce

chocolate chip cookie dough

breakfast sandwiches

pizza sauce

pizza dough

I went to Costco and got most of my big ingredients there (their meat selection is AWESOME!) I cut up the beef for the beef stew, cut up the chicken for both chicken dishes (I also bought chicken thighs and sectioned them off in freezer bags and marinated them so they are ready to bake or grill easily!) I also bought italian sausage and sectioned that off in freezer bags in smaller portions. I plan to parboil some of it too so that I have some already cooked in the freezer for really quick meals!

So today I am making the chili, which is just:

2 cans chili beans

2 can black beans

1 can diced tomatoes (got these at Costco … they are organic too!)

1 can tomato sauce (Costco and organic!)

salt, pepper, garlic powder, LOTS of chili powder (I just season and taste to make sure it is good).

1 pound organic grass fed ground beef (Costco)

1 bag sweet corn kernels

All into the crockpot and cook on low all day! (I may have eaten a bowl for lunch…. YUMMO!) When it cools, I will bag it up into dinner sized portions and put it in the deep freeze! Easy dinners to come!

 

IMG_0411

 

Come back and keep checking in, because my plan is to photograph and blog as I go along ๐Ÿ™‚ If you have any great freezer recipes you make, please share!!

Leave a Reply

